Consigning clothing/shoes/bags and the feeling of being judged.

Over the weekend I gathered up some of my “nicer” items (designer clothes and bags, unworn shoes, unworn clothing) and headed to a consignment shop called Common Sort in Leslieville.  I’ve never done this before, but read about others who have.  Usually I just donate to Goodwill but wanted to see how consignment works and what I could get for a bunch of sunk cost items.

It was odd.  There was a woman who took all of my stuff out of the container and examined each item.  She told me it wasn’t necessary to hover, so I tried to look around the store, peeping every so often at her intense stares.  To be honest, I was embarrassed to have a few items that still had tags on, clearly never worn.  I was also embarrassed as some of the items were totally ill-suited to my role as a mother (I am still on maternity leave), and further embarrassed as she was confused as to why I didn’t want to wear a dress with studs on the shoulder, or 6 inch heels, as if somehow I was “giving up” fashion.

I was also slightly offended as she placed the unwanted items back in the box.  When she turned her attention to the items she wanted, and took out a pen and a tag to price each item.  It was kind of exhilarating.  How much would she think that was worth? Oh really? That much? That little?  In the end, it’s not a negotiation (at least I don’t think so?).  She tabulated all the items and offered either 25% of the total in cash or 50% in store credit.  I took the store credit and came out about $90 richer.  I took my reject box and thought about all the money it took to purchase those items, some much-loved, others total duds.  It was an interesting experience.  Not sure I would do it again.  The money is nice, but I kind of wish it went all to charity instead.

Leave a comment