Jeans. And the problem of too many.

Like many women, I have too many pairs of jeans.  I wonder why it is that we feel like we need 5 different styles (jeggings, skinny, bootleg, wide-leg, and boyfriend, for example).  I think it has something to do with wanting to be always prepared for every occasion.  Perhaps this is an anxiety of a modern woman, or any contemporary person, this desire to be always prepared.  I have that dialogue in my head, Old me: “I can’t wear skinny jeans to a meeting, bootleg or wide-leg looks more professional.”  New me: “Why are you wearing jeans to a meeting?”  Or, Old me: “I need boyfriend jeans to be comfortable on the weekends.”  New me: “Your jeans should be comfortable all the time.”

New me is incredibly rational, isn’t she?  Anyway, time for some jeans to go.  The hard part is that women’s jeans cost a fortune.  You can easily spend $300 on a pair.  I’ve never quite been able to spend that much, my most expensive pair has been $160 + tax (and they are they most flattering, so I don’t know what to make of that).  Still, I have plenty of $100 + jeans in the closet.  As if 3 pairs of $100 jeans is better than 1 pair of $300 jeans.  It’s not.  That’s what I’m beginning to realize.

  • Abercrombie & Fitch  jeans: while I was smitten when I thrifted them from Value Village two months ago, I’ve noticed that they stretch out and sag a lot.  So much that I’m embarrassed to bend over during drop-in playtimes with baby at the local community centre.  Must go.  Luckily, the guilt on this one is low.  Only cost $12.99.
  • Hudson jeans: I wore these out, had to get a butt patch to cover up the rip.  Pretty proud of myself, but time for these too go.  $50 (from Winners).  Low guilt.
  • J crew jeans: From Goodwill.  I think I got it because it was J crew.  Comfortable, but I discovered that I could not do up the side zipper while wearing baby in front.  Not practical. $12.99.
  • Fidelity jeans: A steal at $15.00 from winners.  But…never wore them.  Tags still on.  They were too long and it would’ve cost $20 to get them hemmed.  That really doesn’t seem worth it.

So I’m noticing that I’ve only given away that have been thrifted, or were finds at Winners.  Hmmm…

One thought on “Jeans. And the problem of too many.

Leave a comment