Ins and Outs: July 27.

Another edition.  Because I’m moving soon there’s a lot of purging to do.  Again, I want to document my donations as an antidote to future excess. Yuck.  Sometimes I just want to get rid of everything all at once.  But I’m not that person.  I feel loads of guilt for having accumulated so many items over the past decade.  Writing about why I’m giving it away helps with the process.

Outs:

  • 2 casual dresses (too “early-20s”, and not breastfeeding friendly.  I would have to get naked to feed baby)
  • 2 pairs of boxer shorts (I’m trying to establish a more refined home/lounge style, if that makes sense)
  • 3 tank tops (too young looking)
  • 2 work sweaters (I don’t feel guilty about these, I wore them to death)
  • 2 work shirts (same as above)
  • 1 rash guard (I love that I held on to this.  I dream of living by the beach and surfing everyday.  I’m glad I once had the opportunity to do so)
  • 3 tee shirts (maybe it’s because I have a tummy from where baby once lived, but fitted shirts drive me crazy now)
  • 1 pair of gym shorts (rides up my thighs.  Who likes short shorts?)
  • 2 cardigans (again, too young looking)
  • 1 skirt from American Eagle (I modelled an outfit with this skirt for my husband and said I looked like a “hot young junior, starting her first job in the big city”.  So, yeah.  THAT skirt had to go).
  • TOTAL: 19 ITEMS

Ins:

  • 1 t-shirt from the Gap ($9.99 + tax)
  • TOTAL: 1 ITEM

I know, so so so bad.  That first purchase this month just opened a mental floodgate.  Ugh.  I take comfort in that it was “only” $10, but feel like I’m failing to do my part to stem the proliferation of fast fashion and its ethical consequences.

Leave a comment